Dotty Background Pattern

Suggestions, ideas or problems on the forums. Feel free to post em here. (Please PM Maggie for urgent issues)

Moderator: maggie

Dotty Background Pattern

Postby galaxian on Thu Dec 09, 2004 3:14 pm

First off, congrats on getting these forums happening. Thumbs up a plenty.

I just have one little issue I hope you???ll consider.
Most likely due to my crappy eyesight I find text hard to read against the dotty background pattern.
I wouldn???t want you to have to change it just for my sake, but I was wondering if anyone else had the same problem.

A show of hands perhaps?


Now excuse me while I go hide in the corner.
User avatar
galaxian
Superhero
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: North Coast NSW

Re: Dotty Background Pattern

Postby maggie on Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:09 pm

galaxian wrote:Now excuse me while I go hide in the corner.


Hey hey hey. No hiding. It's a valid point if it makes it hard to read.
Anyone else noticing this?
And do you think a bit of blur on the image would help? Or do you think it would be about the same?

Maggie
About Me
"Of all lies, art is the least untrue." - Flaubert
Image
User avatar
maggie
Robot Overlord!
 
Posts: 1714
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Location: Exalted queen and original creator of this mess.

Postby douglasbot on Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:21 pm

I was actually going to mention the very same. The dotty business plays havoc with my poor computer degenerated eyesight.

d.
Last edited by douglasbot on Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
douglasbot
Robot Overlord!
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:20 pm

Postby Soon on Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:21 pm

I think a blur would help, if it made the difference between the white and the dots less discernable
User avatar
Soon
Super Genius
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:15 am
Location: Liverpool

Postby Aaron on Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:25 pm

I don't have any difficulties, but if it has to be changed then avoid the blur. Maybe just fade the dots slightly. Blurring would just drive me insane.
Aaron
Super Genius
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:01 pm
Location: tassie

Postby maggie on Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:41 pm

How about this? I darkened it and changed the contrast. (you may have to refresh a time or two depending on how your browser is about such things)

I'm betting you're all on PCs, so I can't really judge if this is better for you or not (don't get me started on gamma standards... *sigh*). Let me know. I'd like to keep the whole comic book metaphor happening, but if worse comes to worst, I'll just change it to a flat grey.

Maggie
About Me
"Of all lies, art is the least untrue." - Flaubert
Image
User avatar
maggie
Robot Overlord!
 
Posts: 1714
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Location: Exalted queen and original creator of this mess.

Postby douglasbot on Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:10 pm

much better.
Image
User avatar
douglasbot
Robot Overlord!
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:20 pm

Postby Daniel McKeown on Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:13 pm

I don't like this guy's tongue colour: :p
Daniel McKeown
Super Genius
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Perth,WA

Postby Matt Elder on Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:43 pm

maggie wrote:I'm betting you're all on PCs,


nah.... some of us have the wonderful pleasure of being Mac owners. I've been using both for years and a wintel machine just doesn't compare.

Anyhow, looks fine on Mac.

Would it be at all possible after you submit a post, it comes up with the option of going to previous post or forum. Is there a way to set this so it just goes to the post you just made, rather than being prompted?
Less talk, more do.
Matt Elder
http://www.mattelder.com
User avatar
Matt Elder
Superhero
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Soon on Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:07 am

Doesn't it do that if you wait a few seconds though? I'm sure that's standard with all BB packages.
User avatar
Soon
Super Genius
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:15 am
Location: Liverpool

Postby Monkey on Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:23 am

Yeah, it already does do that. Are you using a zany browser or something?
.
I love it when a plan comes together.
User avatar
Monkey
Super Villain!
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:14 am
Location: Canberra

Postby maggie on Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:53 pm

Matt Elder wrote:Would it be at all possible after you submit a post, it comes up with the option of going to previous post or forum. Is there a way to set this so it just goes to the post you just made, rather than being prompted?


Be patient, young padawan. hehe
Yeah, if you wait a sec, it will take you there. I like that it pauses cuz I don't always wanna go to the post and like having a second or two to go elsewhere. I suppose I could change the text to indicate what's happening.

Update: I added some text to the message.
About Me
"Of all lies, art is the least untrue." - Flaubert
Image
User avatar
maggie
Robot Overlord!
 
Posts: 1714
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Location: Exalted queen and original creator of this mess.

Postby galaxian on Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:43 am

Thanks maggie, that???s tops.

Sorry I couldn???t reply sooner.
User avatar
galaxian
Superhero
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: North Coast NSW


Return to Suggestions or Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest